The Early Years Foundation Stage

Play underpins our delivery of the Early Years curriculum.

Through play our children become active learners, explore and develop learning experiences which helps them to make sense of the world.

Children have the chance to explore ideas, learn how to manage feelings and resolve conflicts. They are given the space to explore and discover, to take risks and make mistakes within a safe and secure environment. We nurture a sense of curiosity by encouraging children to ask questions, reflect and problem solve on their own and with others.

Practitioners create an environment which is child focused which challenges, motivates and encourages learning through first-hand experiences.

Early Years learning comprises of 7 areas; 3 prime and 4 specific areas of learning:

The prime areas of learning are;

• communication and language
• physical development
• personal, social and emotional development

The specific areas of learning are;

• literacy
• mathematics
• understanding the world
• expressive arts and design

All practitioners are responsible and contribute to the assessment of learning for all children through recorded observations.

The school uses tapestry to record all observations and link to ages and stages. Parents are encouraged to share their learning journey through tapestry.